Sunday 22nd October 2017.

After ten main tour events and two nine hole events within the Counties of Northamptonshire, Bedfordshire and Leicestershire a total of 70 players qualified for the end of Season Shires Junior Golf Tour Final, players still had a chance to move up the leader board in their respective divisions and a chance to pick up a £200.00 voucher from Gavin Hay of Custom lab golf.

18 players were in with a chance of claiming a top three spot in the Gold division it went down to the last few holes to decide who was going to be the Gold order of merit winner,

Gold Division

Shea Morris (Aspley Guise and Woburn Sands Golf Club), who had held top spot since the Abbey Hill event held onto his lead and walked away with the coveted Shires Junior Golf Tour Gold Order of merit shield.

Elijah Woodward (Kingsthorpe Golf Club) took the runners up spot from Jordan Darnell (Kettering Golf Club) who finished a close 3rd.

Jordan’s day was made special when he walked away with the Terry Gasking Trophy and a Voucher for £100.00 after shooting the best gross score in 2017 with a 2 under par 69 at Abbey Hill Golf Club. Jordan has reduced his handicap from 5 to 1 after a excellent season and hard work.

Silver Division

This was even closer as Thomas Freeman (Kingsthorpe Golf Club), Aidan Rudge (Collingtree Golf Club) and Austin Cooney (Kettering Golf Club) had just 5 points dividing them.

Thomas Freeman held his nerve and finished just above Aidan Rudge 2nd who took the silver Order of merit shield . Mark Stockdale of Overstone G.C leapt 3 spots to take 3rd.

Bronze Division,

Leader Dillon Basi (Bedford Golf Club) was in no mood to be caught, With a 5 point advantage going into the finals 2nd placed Ben Atherton (Kettering Golf Club) narrowed the gap to just 3 points but couldn’t quite catch Dillon and finished a very close runner up. Kai Williams (Beds and County Golf Club and an England Golf Ambassador) beat Elise Warden (Overstone Golf Club) by just 1 point to take 3rd place.

Copper Division

This was won by Jack Meakin (Wellingborough Golf Club) an unassailable lead going into the finals left players fighting it out for a top 5 finish , Mackenzie Warden (Overstone Golf Club) emerged from the pack to take the runners up spot from tour debutante Oliver Godwin (Overstone Golf Club), Ben White (Aylesbury Park Golf Club) 4th and Ellis Kerr (Gog Magog Golf Club) and William Nunn (Overstone Golf Club) tied equal 5th.

Diamond Division

Tour newcomer Vikram Singh (Bedfordshire Golf Club) took the top spot in this division winning the Diamond Order of merit by 6 points from runner up , 7 year old Bobby Moore (Thorpewood Golf Club), Bobby wasn’t to be outdone on the day and lifted the 9 hole division Mark Faulkner chasing your dreams trophy which coincided with the Grand Final.

3rd spot went to Oliver Fidler (The Bedford Golf Club) followed by Ollie Walden 4th and Martha Pieterse 5th both Overstone Golf Club.

As Part of our 2017 season we introduced two 9 hole events with the 2 best scores from 3 events being added together. 86 players took part at Beadlow Manor Golf Club followed by a further 63 at Brampton Heath Golf Centres short course.

Two trophies were on offer for the two different divisions and the following results were finalised at our Grand Final at Northampton Golf Club.

Mark Faulkner Chasing your dreams Trophy

9 hole results

1st Bobby Moore – Thorpewood Golf Club
2nd Arianna Virk- Stoneleigh Deer Park Golf Club
3rd Anabella Hay- Beadlow Manor Golf Club
4th Ollie Walden- Overstone Golf Club
5th Martha Pieterse- Overstone Golf Club

18 hole results

1st Harrison Taylor – Northants County Golf Club
2nd Euan Cadle- Staverton Park Golf Club
3rd Lottie Heaver- Overstone Golf club
4th Joseph Hyde- Kettering Golf Club
5th Callum Gant- Rushden Golf Club.