Shires Junior Golf Tour has five different handicap divisions for the boy and girl golfers.

The handicap divisions, which include both boys and girls, are;

  • Gold – Handicaps +5 to 9.4.
  • Silver – Handicaps 9.5 to 21.4.
  • Bronze – Handicaps 21.5 to 36.
  • Copper (nine-hole comp) – Handicaps 37 to 47.
  • Diamond (nine-hole comp) – Handicaps 48 to 54 or beginners.

A player’s handicap will determine their handicap division in the 2018 Order or Merit. If their handicap moves outside the division boundaries through the year, their Order of Merit division will be the handicap division they play the most events in.

They will always play off their current handicap, and will therefore compete for prizes in their relevant handicap division at all individual events during the season, including the Order of Merit Grand Final.

SJGT will liaise directly with a player’s home golf club after the event to ensure a standard scratch is established and all cards (good or bad) will be sent to a player’s club for handicap adjustment in line with CONGU. SJGT will also provide feedback to the club following any involvement with any coaching sessions.

Special Prize

The leading gross score will receive the Terry Gasking scratch master trophy and a voucher for £100.00.

Order of Merit

Competitions on a stableford format will be played at our qualifying events throughout the year. The stableford points for a player’s best five finishes for the year will be added together.

There will also be a best gross prize per division at each event.

The player, in each handicap division, with the most points will be the Order of Merit winner.

Please note, a player’s Order of Merit division is the one they have competed in for most of year.

Grand Final

Players in the 18-hole and 9-hole competitions must play 5 of the 12 events to guarantee an invite to the Order of Merit Grand Final.

The player with the most points, from all of the 6 qualifying competitions over 18 holes and 9 holes including the Grand Final, will be the Order Of Merit Grand Final champion for their Divisions.